Closing Reception for Frontrunners

What: Closing reception for Frontrunners: The San Francisco Foundation 2011 Murphy & Cadogan Awards Exhibition

When: Friday, September 16, 6:30–9PM, awards at 7PM, music at 8:00PM

Where: 934 Brannan St. (between 8th & 9th)

How Much: Free admission, cash bar

Help us celebrate the meritorious achievements of our currently exhibiting Frontrunners! The awards ceremony begins at 7PM, followed by a celebration which includes a performance by local band Yesway at 8:00PM, DJs, and food for purchase from the Taco San Bueno truck.

Yesway – “Woahcean” from Dominic Santos on Vimeo.

During the awards ceremony, $3,500 Fellowship tuition awards, plus one additional $3,500 Juror’s Choice tuition award, will be presented to all exhibiting artists.

Frontrunners (on view through September 16th) is a survey of new work from the 23 recipients of the competitive Jack and Gertrude Murphy Fellowships and the Edwin Anthony and Adelaine Bourdeaux Cadogan Fellowships in the Fine Arts, administered by The San Francisco Foundation.


Andrew Chapman, Stanford University
Li Chen, San Francisco Art Institute
James Coquia, California College of the Arts
Christine Elfman, California College of the Arts
Joel Frudden, San Francisco Art Institute
Stephanie Halmos, California College of the Arts
Joey Izzo, San Francisco State University
Adam Katseff, Stanford University
Michael Koehle, Mills College
Senalka McDonald, California College of the Arts
Kate Nartker, California College of the Arts
Toyin Odutola, California College of the Arts
Rodrigo Ojeda-Beck, University of California, Berkeley
Kari Orvik, University of California, Berkeley
Maya Pasternak, California College of the Arts
Christine Peterson, California College of the Arts
Yulia Pinkusevich, Stanford University
Michelle Ramin, San Francisco Art Institute
Amy Rathbone, University of California, Berkeley
Helene Schlumberger, California College of the Arts
Sofia Sharpe, Mills College
Elia Vargas, San Francisco State University
Rachel Mica Weiss, San Francisco Art Institute

The Murphy & Cadogan Fellowships, administered by The San Francisco Foundation, provide a varying number of annual tuition awards of $3,500 to MFA students in support of exploring and developing their artistic potential in digital art, illustration, film/video, hybrid practice, installation, mixed media, painting, photography and sculpture.

The San Francisco Foundation is the community foundation serving the Bay Area since 1948, granting more than $800 million over the past ten years. Through the generosity and vision of our family of donors, both past and present, The San Francisco Foundation awarded grants totaling $76 million in fiscal year 2010. By focusing on policy, advocacy, community organizing, and systems change, the Foundation addresses community needs in the areas of community health, education, arts and culture, community development, and the environment. In response to the economic downturn, The San Francisco Foundation is focusing funding on safety net partners, job creation and training, and foreclosure response and neighborhood preservation for the next two years.



Yesway features Kacey Johansing and Emily Ritz.  Both ladies once played in Honeycomb.  Kacey performs on her own and in a panoply of San Francisco’s top drawer acts. Yesway is the rare occurrence of two musicians vocally melting together, truly becoming one to make their own music of wild, twirling harmonies and wide eyed ghostly beats.